Public Works

The Public Works Department is responsible for the construction and maintenance of the county highway system.  The department oversees the overall management and coordination of 384 miles of roadways and 143 bridges.  Primary functions are divided into the following four divisions: Maintenance Department, Engineering Department, Ditch & Ag  Department and County Parks.

The Public Works Maintenance Division is responsible for snow plowing, pavement and gravel maintenance, culvert repairs and replacements, sign installation, mowing and shouldering.

The Public Works Engineering Division is responsible for construction projects located on roads, bridges and sidewalks that require surveying, design, inspection, contract administration and right of way acquisition.  The Public Works Engineering Division is also responsible for countywide bridge inspections.

To accomplish this, funding is received from federal, state and local resources to maintain and reconstruct our transportation system.  The department pursues cooperative projects with other governmental units and partners with contractors and utility companies to ensure efficient construction.

The Public Works Department is also responsible for the management of the county park system including mowing, road maintenance and park improvements.

As of January 2021, the Drainage, Ditch and Ag Department moved under Public Works.  They maintain the county drainage ditch system and perform ag inspections for the Department of Agriculture.

View the Public Works staff organizational chart (PDF)